Tools We Actually Recommend for Landlords and Homebuyers
Every price on this page was taken from the vendor’s own pricing page and verified on August 18, 2026. Software pricing changes without notice — confirm current terms before you buy. We update this page quarterly.
How This Page Works
Most “best tools” pages are ranked lists of whatever pays the highest commission. This one is organized by the job you are trying to do, because the right tool for a landlord with one rental is almost never the right tool for someone managing forty doors for other people.
Three rules govern what appears here:
- We list the price you actually pay. Headline subscription rates hide transaction fees, setup charges, and per-document costs. Where those exist, we name them.
- We recommend free tools when free is correct. Several tools below have free tiers that are genuinely sufficient for small portfolios. We say so, even though a free tier pays us nothing.
- We do not list a tool we cannot verify. If a vendor does not publish its pricing, that fact appears in the entry rather than being smoothed over.
Start Here: Find Your Stage
Skip to the section that matches where you actually are. Buying tools for the portfolio you want in five years is the most common and most expensive mistake in this category.
| Your situation | What you actually need | Realistic annual spend |
|---|---|---|
| Still shopping for the first property | Deal analysis and rent data. No management software yet. | $0 – $99 |
| 1–4 units, self-managed | Rent collection + bookkeeping. Free tiers cover most of this. | $0 – $150 |
| 5–20 units, self-managed | Rent collection, real bookkeeping, an entity, deal analysis. | $300 – $500 |
| Managing units you don’t own | Trust accounting and owner reporting. This is a different product category. | $1,000+ |
1. Collect Rent and Manage Tenants
This is the first paid tool most landlords buy, and the category where overspending is easiest. The dividing question is not portfolio size — it is whether you owe an accounting to an outside owner.
RentRedi — best for self-managing landlords
$12/month billed annually, $20/month on six-month billing, or $29.95/month month-to-month. Unlimited properties, tenants, and teammates with no per-unit fees. Rent collection, screening, maintenance requests, listing syndication to Zillow and Realtor.com, and e-signatures are included in the subscription.
The fees that sit outside it: ACH rent payments cost $1.00 per transaction and card payments 3.1% + $0.30, both charged to the tenant by default. Tenant screening is $39.99 tenant-paid, or $49.99 with Plaid-certified income verification. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee and no contract.
Why it’s here: the subscription is flat regardless of door count and the recurring transaction costs default to the tenant, so a five-unit landlord’s real annual cost is about $144. That is the lowest true cost in the category for owner-operators.
Skip it if: you manage property for other people. It has no owner portals or owner draws.
Read our full cost comparison: Buildium vs RentRedi →
Buildium — best for third-party property managers
Essential $62/month, Growth $192/month, Premium $400/month. Purpose-built property accounting with a general ledger, owner portals, owner draws, and association support.
The add-on stack matters here: incoming EFT is $2.35 per transaction on Essential ($1.35 on Growth), e-signatures are $5 per document on Essential ($1 on Growth, unlimited on Premium), bank account setup is $99 on Essential, and onboarding is required on Growth and Premium at a fee the pricing page does not disclose. Tenant screening runs $17–$20 landlord-paid or $35 applicant-paid.
One caveat worth naming: Buildium’s public pricing page does not state which unit counts each plan covers, noting only that portfolios above 5,000 units require a sales call. Get your unit band quoted in writing before committing.
Why it’s here: if you hold other people’s money, trust accounting and owner statements are requirements, not features. No cheaper tool substitutes.
Skip it if: you own everything you manage. You would be paying roughly $929/year for a compliance layer you have no duty to produce.
2. Track the Money
Rent collection software tells you what came in. It rarely tells you whether the property is actually performing. These two tools fill that gap, and both have free tiers that are genuinely usable.
Stessa — best free portfolio bookkeeping
Essentials is $0/month and includes unlimited properties, automatic bank feeds, basic financial reports, tenant screening, rent collection, and up to 1.88% APY on cash balances. Manage is $12/month billed annually ($15 monthly) and adds a Schedule E report, 60+ legal forms, and one e-signature per month. Pro is $28/month billed annually ($35 monthly) and adds advanced reporting, budgeting and pro-forma tools, unlimited receipt scanning, and up to 3.24% APY.
Why it’s here: the free tier is not a crippled demo. For a landlord with one to four units who wants clean books at tax time, $0 is the correct spend, and the Schedule E report on Manage is the specific thing worth $144/year when you outgrow it.
Baselane — best landlord banking
Referral link — we earn a bonus if you open a Baselane account: open a Baselane account. Nothing else in this section is monetised.
Core banking is free — no monthly maintenance fee, no minimum balance, no inactivity penalty — with entity and property-level income and expense tracking and automated rent, reminders, and late fees. Baselane Smart is $20/month after a 30-day free trial, adding AI transaction categorization, receipt matching, balance sheet reports, and two-day rent deposits.
Watch the transaction fees: ACH rent payments are $2 (landlord or tenant, your choice), card payments carry a 3.49% convenience charge, and wires are $15 unless your combined balance exceeds $50,000.
Why it’s here: per-property bank accounts are the single cheapest way to make bookkeeping tolerable, and doing it without per-account fees is unusual.
A note on overlap: Stessa, Baselane, and RentRedi all collect rent. Running all three is a common and pointless expense. Pick rent collection in one place and let the others do what they are best at.
3. Analyze Deals Before You Buy
The tools in this section are the only ones on this page that pay for themselves in a single avoided mistake. Buy them before you buy management software, not after.
DealCheck — best deal analysis
Starter is $0/month with up to 15 saved properties, 5 comps, and 5 templates — no credit card required. Plus is $10/month ($120/year) with up to 50 saved properties. Pro is $20/month ($240/year) with unlimited properties, photos, comps, and templates. Paid tiers include a 14-day free trial.
Why it’s here: fifteen saved properties on the free tier covers a serious first search. Most buyers never need to upgrade.
Rentometer — best rent comparables
Basic is $59/year. Essential is $8/month billed annually ($96/year, or $16 month-to-month). Pro is $16/month billed annually ($199/year, or $29 month-to-month) and adds bulk estimates, Atlas market data, and API access. There is no free plan, only a 3-day trial.
Why it’s here: your rent assumption is the single number that determines whether a deal works, and it is the number buyers most often guess. A $59 subscription against a six-figure purchase is not a close call.
Skip it if: you are buying in a market you already own in and know current rents firsthand.
4. Set Up the Entity
Northwest Registered Agent — best LLC formation
$39 plus state filing fees to form the LLC, and $125/year for registered agent service ($100/year per state at five or more states). State filing fees are separate and vary widely — Northwest cites a general range of $100–$300, with real-world outliers from $40 in Kentucky to $500 in Massachusetts.
Why it’s here: flat, published, unbundled pricing in a category built on upsells, and the registered agent price has not changed in 20 years by the company’s own account.
And if you already have an entity: what registered agent services actually cost in year two →
An honest caveat: an LLC is a legal and tax decision, not a software purchase. Whether you need one — and in which state — depends on your financing, your insurance, and your state’s law. Talk to a CPA or attorney before forming an entity. We are not a legal practice and this is not legal advice.
Free Tools We Built
Before you pay for anything above, these are free and require no signup:
- Mortgage Payment Calculator — what the monthly payment actually is, including the parts buyers forget
- Home Affordability Calculator — what you can carry, not what you can qualify for
- Rent vs Buy Calculator — the breakeven horizon for your market
- Down Payment Calculator — including PMI thresholds
- Refinance Calculator — whether the rate move clears your closing costs
Where to Go Next
- New to buying: First-Time Homebuyer Guide and How Much House Can You Afford
- Budgeting the carry: The True Cost of Homeownership
- Choosing a market: How to Identify Affordable Housing Markets
- Investor analysis and tool breakdowns: Investor Lab
How We Make Money
The Housing Signal earns a referral bonus from exactly one tool listed on this page: Baselane. Nothing else here is monetised. Those relationships do not determine placement, ranking, or verdict. Several entries above recommend a $0 free tier that pays us nothing, and at least one recommendation directs readers away from a higher-commission product toward a cheaper one. If that ever stops being true, this page will have stopped being worth reading.
We do not accept payment for inclusion, and we do not publish sponsored entries.
The Housing Signal provides educational information and market commentary only. We are not a licensed mortgage lender, financial advisor, or legal practice. Tool pricing and features were taken from vendor-published sources and verified on August 18, 2026; terms change without notice, and you should confirm current pricing directly with each vendor. The Housing Signal is an independent publisher and is not affiliated with any tool listed on this page beyond the affiliate relationships disclosed above.
State down payment assistance guides
We publish verified, county-level income limits and program terms for the largest assistance programs in the country — figures read from each agency’s own current chart, with the effective date printed. Florida (Hometown Heroes) · Texas (TSAHC) · North Carolina (NCHFA) · Ohio (OHFA) · Michigan (MSHDA) · Maryland